Home » About Island Wheelers CC

About Island Wheelers CC

The Island Wheelers became an official club of Cycling Ireland in January 2004. However the roots of our club extend right back to the lates 80’s and early 90’s when Paddy McNally, (the late) Kevin McGrath & Gerard Scott began cycling together.

The history of cycling in the Coalisland / Dungannon area must include the glory years of the 1950’s when cycling in this area was vibrant & produced some of the best cyclists in Ireland at the time. This included Joe McIvor (1954) & Seamus Devlin (1958) winning stages in Ireland’s premier race, the ‘Ras Tailteann’.

The 1st Island Wheelers committee in 2004 included the following:- Chairman: Paddy McNally;   Secretary: Gerard Scott; Treasurer: Frank McGirr; Assistant Treasurer: Barney Carroll; P.R.O. : Peter Corr & members James McLaughlin & Declan McShane.

When the 1st committee was being appointed it was unamimously agreed to appoint (our most respected member) Mr. Hugo Loughran as Honorary President. Hugo is an inspiration to all members & in 2006 was made Honorary President for life!!

In the year 2000/2001 before we became an official club, the first Island Wheelers jackets were ordered. The Island Wheelers colours of Red & Yellow were chosen to reflect the “Coalisland Cycling Club” of the 1950’s whose colours were maroon & yellow.

In 2006 – a whole new kit was designed to modernise the look, using the highest quality materials from ‘Bio Racer’ , sponsored by 4 local companies;  DMAC Engineering (Declan McShane), Spincraft Specialist Woodturning (Owen Campbell), Hagan Flooring (Larry Hagan) & D. H. Interiors & Kitchens (Dominic Hamill).

At the end 2012, the Island Wheeler’s Cycling Club were delighted to announce that Chieftain Trailers (John Quinn, Managing Director) would be the clubs new solo sponsor.  With this, came the launch of the new kit at the club’s annual dinner and awards night.